Hi,I have been a member for some months now and have been admiring the high standard of photography.
And have now decided to try a post some photographs myself, the only problem is I have only just started using digital and it's all a bit daunting! Is there an idiots guide to posting available?
Regards
Trevor
This is the workflow that I use to post images on this website. If you want any further explanation, you just need to ask. Someone will chip in.
1. Process RAW image in preferred Raw image processing software.
2. Open processed image in Photoshop.
3. Optional – remove dust spots with cloning tool or spot healing tool
4. Optional – run noise reduction software.
5. Optional – perform any further tonal or colour adjustments necessary.
6. Optional – straighten horizon if required using Measure Tool.
7. Optional – crop image if required/desirable.
8. Save image as 16-bit .tif or .psd master file.
9. Re-size image for web posting by selecting Image >Image Size from the Menu Bar.
10. Check the “Constrain Proportions” check box to ensure the proportions of the image remain the same.
11. Select the algorithm for down-rezzing the image – I prefer to use Bicubic or Bilinear; if you use the recommended Bicubic Sharper, this will cause fringing in parts of the image where contrast is high and exacerbate sharpening artefacts.
12. Set the image resolution in the “Document Size” dialogue box – most people use 72 although I’ve seen 92 recommended as well.
13. Set the width and height of the image in the “Pixel Dimensions” dialogue box in accordance with the posting size requirements of the website – for NPN the maximum pixel dimension is 640 on the longest side of the image.
14. Select OK – this will reduce the size of the file to about 200k for a 8mp image from the 20D. Press Ctrl + 0 (zero) to bring the image back to full size on the screen.
15. Convert the image from 16-bit to 8-bit; Image>Mode – select 8bits/Channel.
16. Add border, copyright text etc if desired.
17. Sharpen using USM – Filter>Sharpen>Unsharp Mask using amount = 100 percent; radius = 0.2; threshold = 0.
18. Immediately after applying USM select Edit>Fade then select Luminocity from the Mode drop down menu (right at the bottom), Select OK. This applies the sharpening to the luminocity channel and helps to reduce the incidence of visible sharpening halos.
19. Repeat this USM sharpening followed by the Edit>Fade routine several times (typically upto five times) or until it starts to look crunchy and then delete the last one or two applications which will be recorded in the History Palette.
20. Convert to sRGB colour space for web-posting – Image>Mode>Convert to Profile and select sRGB IE61966-2.1 from the drop down selections. Ensure that the Colour Engine in use is Adobe (ACE), that the Intent is Relative Colorimetric and that the “use black point compensation” check box is checked.
21. Save for Web – File>Save for Web. Ensure that the File Format selected is JPEG (top drop down menu); that Compression Quality is set to Maximum (second down drop down menu) and the ICC profile box is checked.
22. Press the “Optimize Menu” button (radio button to the right of the File Format drop down menu box) and select Optimize to File Size, which will open another dialogue box.
23. Select “Current Settings” and enter the file size you desire – 125kb is the largest file size allowed by NPN, other websites tend to be a bit smaller. I typically select 90kb for an image size of 600 x 400 pixels.
24. Select OK, then Save, then enter the filename that you want to use to reference the file.
25. Done.
Discussion
2 repliesAnd have now decided to try a post some photographs myself, the only problem is I have only just started using digital and it's all a bit daunting! Is there an idiots guide to posting available?
Regards
Trevor
This is the workflow that I use to post images on this website. If you want any further explanation, you just need to ask. Someone will chip in.
1. Process RAW image in preferred Raw image processing software.
2. Open processed image in Photoshop.
3. Optional – remove dust spots with cloning tool or spot healing tool
4. Optional – run noise reduction software.
5. Optional – perform any further tonal or colour adjustments necessary.
6. Optional – straighten horizon if required using Measure Tool.
7. Optional – crop image if required/desirable.
8. Save image as 16-bit .tif or .psd master file.
9. Re-size image for web posting by selecting Image >Image Size from the Menu Bar.
10. Check the “Constrain Proportions” check box to ensure the proportions of the image remain the same.
11. Select the algorithm for down-rezzing the image – I prefer to use Bicubic or Bilinear; if you use the recommended Bicubic Sharper, this will cause fringing in parts of the image where contrast is high and exacerbate sharpening artefacts.
12. Set the image resolution in the “Document Size” dialogue box – most people use 72 although I’ve seen 92 recommended as well.
13. Set the width and height of the image in the “Pixel Dimensions” dialogue box in accordance with the posting size requirements of the website – for NPN the maximum pixel dimension is 640 on the longest side of the image.
14. Select OK – this will reduce the size of the file to about 200k for a 8mp image from the 20D. Press Ctrl + 0 (zero) to bring the image back to full size on the screen.
15. Convert the image from 16-bit to 8-bit; Image>Mode – select 8bits/Channel.
16. Add border, copyright text etc if desired.
17. Sharpen using USM – Filter>Sharpen>Unsharp Mask using amount = 100 percent; radius = 0.2; threshold = 0.
18. Immediately after applying USM select Edit>Fade then select Luminocity from the Mode drop down menu (right at the bottom), Select OK. This applies the sharpening to the luminocity channel and helps to reduce the incidence of visible sharpening halos.
19. Repeat this USM sharpening followed by the Edit>Fade routine several times (typically upto five times) or until it starts to look crunchy and then delete the last one or two applications which will be recorded in the History Palette.
20. Convert to sRGB colour space for web-posting – Image>Mode>Convert to Profile and select sRGB IE61966-2.1 from the drop down selections. Ensure that the Colour Engine in use is Adobe (ACE), that the Intent is Relative Colorimetric and that the “use black point compensation” check box is checked.
21. Save for Web – File>Save for Web. Ensure that the File Format selected is JPEG (top drop down menu); that Compression Quality is set to Maximum (second down drop down menu) and the ICC profile box is checked.
22. Press the “Optimize Menu” button (radio button to the right of the File Format drop down menu box) and select Optimize to File Size, which will open another dialogue box.
23. Select “Current Settings” and enter the file size you desire – 125kb is the largest file size allowed by NPN, other websites tend to be a bit smaller. I typically select 90kb for an image size of 600 x 400 pixels.
24. Select OK, then Save, then enter the filename that you want to use to reference the file.
25. Done.
Hope this helps