Posted by Mike Duncan on December 15, 2007 at 12:49 PM
How do I go about correcting vignetting problems in the corners? It's pretty bad in some pictures and the vignetting tool doesn't fix the problem. Hopefully I'll get a Photoshop guide in the next couple days so I won't have to ask these questions.
You could try 'Color Range' tool under 'View'. Here's how...
Go to 'View>Color Range'
Using the eye dropper you can select a color range. You can adjust the 'fuzziness' of the dropper which limits or increases the range of colors sampled. I suggest setting the 'mask' to 'Quick Edit'. A red mask will apear over the image. As you select the color range the areas selected will be uncovered. You can use the '+' or '-' buttons to add or subtract from the color range selection.
Once you are done, click OK. The 'marching ants' will indicate the areas selected. Save the selection by going to 'Select>Save Selection'. Give the selection a name, say, "vignetting'.
If you need to refine your selection, you can use the lasso to add to, or subtract from your selection. If you do this, be sure to save the new selection.
You can then use a Curves layer and/or 'Levels' Layer in attempt to correct the vignetting.
I have used this procedure to remove evidence of light leaks on 4x5 trannies. Be patient: it could take some time to get everything in balance.
Hope this helps!
-PB
Posted by John Mumaw on December 15, 2007 at 1:45 PM
Just to confirm...you're using the vignette fix tool found under
Filter->Distort->Lens Correction or the tool found in ACR?
What's causing the vignetting? Filters?
Stopping the lens down from wide open often corrects this problem that some lenses produce.
Posted by Adam Kavalunas on December 15, 2007 at 2:07 PM
Here's what I would do. Use the eliptical marquee and draw an elipse roughly selecting the area in the middle of the photo not affected by the vignetting. Then select inverse and make a curves layer and lighten the selection. Then blur to your liking. You can then change the opacity to fine tune it.
Discussion
5 repliesThanks,
Mike
You could try 'Color Range' tool under 'View'. Here's how...
Go to 'View>Color Range'
Using the eye dropper you can select a color range. You can adjust the 'fuzziness' of the dropper which limits or increases the range of colors sampled. I suggest setting the 'mask' to 'Quick Edit'. A red mask will apear over the image. As you select the color range the areas selected will be uncovered. You can use the '+' or '-' buttons to add or subtract from the color range selection.
Once you are done, click OK. The 'marching ants' will indicate the areas selected. Save the selection by going to 'Select>Save Selection'. Give the selection a name, say, "vignetting'.
If you need to refine your selection, you can use the lasso to add to, or subtract from your selection. If you do this, be sure to save the new selection.
You can then use a Curves layer and/or 'Levels' Layer in attempt to correct the vignetting.
I have used this procedure to remove evidence of light leaks on 4x5 trannies. Be patient: it could take some time to get everything in balance.
Hope this helps!
-PB
Filter->Distort->Lens Correction or the tool found in ACR?
What's causing the vignetting? Filters?
Stopping the lens down from wide open often corrects this problem that some lenses produce.