Nature Photographers Network
This is the preserved archive of the original Nature Photographers Network. The community continues at naturephotographers.network.

Adobe & Upgrades

Discussion

3 replies
Posted by Nick on October 31, 2008 at 10:34 AM
If anyone wants to try to switch platforms from PC to Mac or vice-versa, don't bother. Over a month after requesting the change, several e-mails, lost faxes etc I'm now onto my second letter of software destruction and still no nearer to getting the product from them.

All I can say is thank heavens I don't need the darned thing for a project at the minute...

What is it with companies these days... don't they want our money ?!?!?!

Oh - and if you do ever upgrade/exchange, *DON'T* destroy anything - keep *EVERYTHING* as they'll ask for previous serial numbers back to the start of time itself. If you destory things, how can you find your old serial numbers :confused:


AAaaaaaaaaarghhhhhh :argue: :argue: :argue:
Posted by Drew Mellowship on October 31, 2008 at 2:45 PM
If it's already gone then I shouldn't really write anything but, I thought you could in Photoshop go into the help menu and look at registration info which also should show a previous or current serial. But I don't know if this is possible if the software has been registered as such.

Drew :smile:
Posted by Nick on November 1, 2008 at 7:19 AM
Don't worry Drew, I've got the numbers I need. It's more of a warning to anyone else who'll be upgrading/cross-grading from any Adobe products. Despite what they 'ask', never destroy or throw away any of their products/serial numbers/upgrade e-mails as you're going to need them at some point...
Posted by Nick on November 12, 2008 at 8:09 AM
Finally, 7 weeks later I get to place the order :rolleyes:.

So, for anyone contemplating doing anything similar in the future (cross platform + upgrade), allow a long time to get everything sorted with them. And make sure you always keep paper copies of every single serial number you ever get from Adobe (just as well I do). FWIW, they delete your old registered number when they receive your letter of software destruction - so you can't pluck it back from their ordering/registration system.

Oh, and know your prices too - they got the upgrade price wrong on the order they created and had to correct it :rolleyes:.