Posted by Angela Classen on December 31, 2008 at 12:09 PM
I'm having a lot of trouble sharpening images for the web. They seem to look ok on my monitor, but when I post them it's a whole different ball game. I use Lightroom 2 to process my raw images and recently purchased Photoshop Elements 7 for further editing.
I've been trying to locate Marc Adamus' sharpening technique here in the forums but can't seem to find it.
Can anyone point me to that, and offer any other advice or suggest any other programs for sharpening? I appreciate any and all help. NPN is a great resource and I've learned so much from everyone since joining.
Interesting, I was taught to use Unsharp Mask on the actual image size with settings of 500%/ 0.1-0.2 /0. I have to try Marc's method and compare the results.
I am not familiar with 'PS Elements' (I use PSCS2), so I am not sure this will be applicable to you. Basically, this method is used in the LAB color space using the Lightness Channel...
1. Open your sized RGB image.
2. Choose Layer>Flatten
3. Choose Image>Mode>Lab Color
4. In the Channels Pallet, choose the "Lightness" channel.
When you choose the 'Lightness' channel, your image will revert to a very light B&W image. Don't worry.
5. View>Actual Image Size (Use the ruler and 'zoom' the image so that the ruler accurately reflects the size of the image in inches)
6. Choose Filter>Unsharp Mask
Settings for USM: Amount=85%, Radius=1, Threshold=4. Preview--Checked
If you need to apply more USM, press Ctrl-F to apply USM again. Repeat this step as necessary.
7. Choose Image>Mode>RGB to switch back to RGB color.
Note: The values for 'amount', 'threshold', and 'radius' are starting points. Experiment with different settings to achieve desired results.
I use this method for both printing and for the web. It works very nicely. I hope this works for you, Angela!
Discussion
6 repliesI've been trying to locate Marc Adamus' sharpening technique here in the forums but can't seem to find it.
Can anyone point me to that, and offer any other advice or suggest any other programs for sharpening? I appreciate any and all help. NPN is a great resource and I've learned so much from everyone since joining.
Pete D
1. Open your sized RGB image.
2. Choose Layer>Flatten
3. Choose Image>Mode>Lab Color
4. In the Channels Pallet, choose the "Lightness" channel.
When you choose the 'Lightness' channel, your image will revert to a very light B&W image. Don't worry.
5. View>Actual Image Size (Use the ruler and 'zoom' the image so that the ruler accurately reflects the size of the image in inches)
6. Choose Filter>Unsharp Mask
Settings for USM: Amount=85%, Radius=1, Threshold=4. Preview--Checked
If you need to apply more USM, press Ctrl-F to apply USM again. Repeat this step as necessary.
7. Choose Image>Mode>RGB to switch back to RGB color.
Note: The values for 'amount', 'threshold', and 'radius' are starting points. Experiment with different settings to achieve desired results.
I use this method for both printing and for the web. It works very nicely. I hope this works for you, Angela!
-P