Nature Photographers Network
This is the preserved archive of the original Nature Photographers Network. The community continues at naturephotographers.network.

Photoshop CS4 question

Discussion

3 replies
Posted by Joe O'Hara on December 25, 2009 at 2:57 PM
This is probably easy, but I haven't been able to figure it out yet.

How can I print two or more copies of the same image on the same sheet of paper? I
hate using a whole piece of 13x19 Silver Rag for one panorama. I use the Mac platform
and Eric Chan's ABW workflow for the Epson 3800 printer. Thanks in advance.
Posted by Keith Bauer on December 25, 2009 at 10:29 PM
There are at least a couple of ways to do this. I'm assuming you want to print something like a couple of 8x10's on a 13x19 sheet (or some other sizes that will fit).

If you have the picture package stuff installed you could just just that. For some reason Adobe decided not to install that by default with CS4 but it is still there. Can't remember exactly where, but a quick google search should get you going.

The other way is to create a new blank image that is 13x19 at the same resolution as the images you want to print. Open one of the images. Flatten the layers if you have multiple layers. Select the move tool (V), then simply drag and drop the flattened image to the blank 13x19. If you need to rotate it, use the free transform command and rotate that layer. Do the same thing for the second image and place it on the 13 x19 so it fits. That should allow you to have whatever layout you want on the new 13x 19 and just print from there. Hope that helps.
Posted by Preston Birdwell on December 28, 2009 at 10:31 AM
Keith's procedure will work nicely. Here's another way...

After you create the new canvas (at the same resolution as the images you want to use), open the images you want to use. Flatten any layers. Select the entire canvas(Select>All). Copy the image (Edit>Copy}. Click on your new canvas and then Paste (Edit>Paste). Repeat with any othe images you want to use.

The next thing you need to do is adjust the positions of the images. Go to View>Show>Grid. Select the Move Tool and then click the image you want to move. Move the image to where you want it, being sure that its boundaries are within the printable area of the page. You can also use the arrow keys to nudge the image. Repeat for the other image(s).

I use a PC and keyboard shortcuts for most this procedure. It very fast.

Here are the sortcuts:

Select All--Crtl+A
Copy--Ctrl+C
Paste--Ctrl+V
Show Grid--Ctrl+' (apostrophe)
Hide Grid--Ctrl+' (apostrophe)
Deselect--Ctrl+D

-P
Posted by Joe O'Hara on December 28, 2009 at 1:30 PM
Thanks a lot, Preston and Keith. I can take it from here.