Posted by Dottie Short on April 10, 2012 at 7:41 PM
Sometime the patch tool works flawlessly for me and then other times it acts up and duplicates another color found in my images. After I make the selection, drag it to a part of the image that I want to duplicate, and then release another offending color appears. What's going on? Any help would be appreciated. I've watched on-line tutorials and it appears that I am doing it correctly.
Posted by David Bostedo on April 10, 2012 at 9:45 PM
Do you have multiple layers Dottie? My first thought is that there's something going on with transparency or opacity. Does it happen on flat images?
Posted by Keith Bauer on April 10, 2012 at 11:00 PM
The first thought that pops into my head is are you using the "Source" or "Destination" radio buttons on the tool bar for the patch tool. Choosing the Source option, you make a selection, then move it to the pixels that you want to use as the source (reverse of the way the clone tool works). If you use the Destination option, you make a selection and the move it and it will replace the pixels where you move it to.
Posted by Dottie Short on April 10, 2012 at 11:07 PM
David, I started again so there would not be too many layers. I duplicated the layer per the instructions in my book. I was successful removing an OOF limb coming from the top center, but then was not successful patching out the orange half as you can see from the image I posted. I've always had trouble with the patch tool. When it works it's great. I also included a screenshot of my PS layers.
Posted by Dottie Short on April 10, 2012 at 11:07 PM
Here is the screen shot of the layer panel
Posted by John Mumaw on April 10, 2012 at 11:17 PM
Try using the Spot Healing Brush instead. You can drag it along the branch and it will use the Content Aware 'miracle' algorithm to do its magic. Be sure the Content Aware button is checked near the top of your screen after you choose that tool.
I think David is definitely on the right track. Layers that modify pixels, such as those in which dodging/burning or the clone stamp have been used may cause problems. Also, any adjustments made using Image>Adjustments, rather than layers will likely cause issues, too.
There are a couple of courses of action that may help ensure the patch tool works as expected.
1. Before making any adjustments, create a copy of the Backround layer; Layer>Layer via Copy. Use the patch tool on this new layer. When you're satisfied, flatten the image and then proceed with your adjustments.
2. If adjustment layers are already created, flatten the image and then proceed as above.
Like David, I am curious if the issue you are having this problem with images that are already flattened.
Let us know what you find out.
--P
Posted by David Bostedo on April 11, 2012 at 10:15 AM
Dottie - Can you show a before, during, and after sequence? I.e. where are you choosing the patch from, and what's that spot look like before you apply the patch?
Personally, I hardly ever use the patch tool and prefer the healing brush and cloning.
Posted by Joe Rogers on April 11, 2012 at 10:53 PM
IMHO you are using the wrong tool for the job although eventually you might get it done. What John said is a better choice...again IMHO>
Joe Rogers
Discussion
8 repliesThere are a couple of courses of action that may help ensure the patch tool works as expected.
1. Before making any adjustments, create a copy of the Backround layer; Layer>Layer via Copy. Use the patch tool on this new layer. When you're satisfied, flatten the image and then proceed with your adjustments.
2. If adjustment layers are already created, flatten the image and then proceed as above.
Like David, I am curious if the issue you are having this problem with images that are already flattened.
Let us know what you find out.
--P
Personally, I hardly ever use the patch tool and prefer the healing brush and cloning.
Joe Rogers