Here's one for all of you Photoshop 7 experts. Costco has once again updated their printer profiles. I have to get an order ready in the next week of about 40 different images, each in a couple of sizes. I have all of these images color balanced and saved for Costco's previous printer profile in each size that I need. My question is this: Is there any way to convert all of these images to Costco's new printer profile at once or am I stuck bringing each one up individually in Photoshop and re-"convert to profile"? Any help would be GREATLY appreciated!
Well, I haven't had to work with printer profiles in this way yet, but I assume you can just record an action for one image, then run a batch process of that action on the entire folder of images.
You first need to determine if the new printer profile will actually mess up your colors in ways you don't want, and if so, how much.
You can check this by soft proofing a few test images to the two different profiles, and then having them printed. You might decide it's OK to leave them in the existing color space.
If you send the files to them with the original color space, they will print them using the new profile anyway. It's just a matter of whether you think the colors will be wrong.
It's likely that the new printer color space is larger than the previous one, in which case all your existing colors will fit into that space and no conversion is necessary. But you might find that super-saturated colors get pushed into places you don't want.
If you are certain that their new profile is different enough to warrant converting your files, it's easy enough using a Photoshop Action and/or a Droplet.
For Windows Photoshop 7, I'm working from memory here, so hopefully the steps are accurate. In any case, the principles are the same.
To do the conversion, you will need to have the new printer profile already in the Profiles folder for your system.
Start with just one image file open.
On the Actions palette, click the "Record" button.
Under the menu Edit > Convert to Profile, choose the printer profile you are converting to. If you leave the Preview button checked you can see the effects of the conversion.
Click OK.
On the Actions palette, click the button to stop recording.
Name/re-name the Action as you see fit.
With the Action recorded, you can batch process a whole folder of images either from within File Browser or using a Droplet (you can save any action as a droplet.)
Hope this helps, let me know it you have questions,....
Tony – Interesting problem! I had to try this myself to see if I can do it, and I was able to convert a bunch of files using Actions. Someone else may have a smoother solution, but here is how I did it. (I am using CS and I am not sure if this works in PS 7.)
- Copy all of your images that you want to convert into a backup folder.
- Open one of the images.
- Start recording an Action. You should record the following: Image>Mode>Convert to Profile… (and select desired profile), click OK, click Save, click Close.
- Stop Recording (note the name of the Action or name it something you will remember)
- Under your Color Management Policies (Edit > Color Settings…) select “Preserve Embedded Profiles” and temporarily uncheck “Profile Mismatches – Ask When Opening.”
Now you can run this Action as a Batch on a folder:
- Select File > Automate > Batch…
- In the Action drop down menu, select the Action you recorded previously
- In the Source, select Folder, and the click Choose to browse to the folder that contains the images
- Click OK
PS will now open each image convert the profile and save and close. The first time you do this you will probably get a warning message. Simply click the Don’t Show Warning again checkbox.
Again, make sure you have backups! Also you may want to try on a few test images, first.
Discussion
4 repliesYou first need to determine if the new printer profile will actually mess up your colors in ways you don't want, and if so, how much.
You can check this by soft proofing a few test images to the two different profiles, and then having them printed. You might decide it's OK to leave them in the existing color space.
If you send the files to them with the original color space, they will print them using the new profile anyway. It's just a matter of whether you think the colors will be wrong.
It's likely that the new printer color space is larger than the previous one, in which case all your existing colors will fit into that space and no conversion is necessary. But you might find that super-saturated colors get pushed into places you don't want.
If you are certain that their new profile is different enough to warrant converting your files, it's easy enough using a Photoshop Action and/or a Droplet.
For Windows Photoshop 7, I'm working from memory here, so hopefully the steps are accurate. In any case, the principles are the same.
To do the conversion, you will need to have the new printer profile already in the Profiles folder for your system.
Start with just one image file open.
On the Actions palette, click the "Record" button.
Under the menu Edit > Convert to Profile, choose the printer profile you are converting to. If you leave the Preview button checked you can see the effects of the conversion.
Click OK.
On the Actions palette, click the button to stop recording.
Name/re-name the Action as you see fit.
With the Action recorded, you can batch process a whole folder of images either from within File Browser or using a Droplet (you can save any action as a droplet.)
Hope this helps, let me know it you have questions,....
- Copy all of your images that you want to convert into a backup folder.
- Open one of the images.
- Start recording an Action. You should record the following: Image>Mode>Convert to Profile… (and select desired profile), click OK, click Save, click Close.
- Stop Recording (note the name of the Action or name it something you will remember)
- Under your Color Management Policies (Edit > Color Settings…) select “Preserve Embedded Profiles” and temporarily uncheck “Profile Mismatches – Ask When Opening.”
Now you can run this Action as a Batch on a folder:
- Select File > Automate > Batch…
- In the Action drop down menu, select the Action you recorded previously
- In the Source, select Folder, and the click Choose to browse to the folder that contains the images
- Click OK
PS will now open each image convert the profile and save and close. The first time you do this you will probably get a warning message. Simply click the Don’t Show Warning again checkbox.
Again, make sure you have backups! Also you may want to try on a few test images, first.
Thanks! I'll give it a try tomorrow night. The colors shift just enough to warrant the new profile.