Posted by Carol Floyd on August 21, 2012 at 5:25 PM
Hi, has anyone ever experienced this type of problem with Photoshop. I am using a PC with Windows 7. I bring in a .dng image into Photoshop using Camera RAW. When I go to save the image to another location, when I click on the new location, Photoshop renames the file and puts a .jpeg extension on the file regardless what type file I want to save the image as such as a .tiff. When I do proceed to save the file, and try to re-open it, Photoshop will not open giving an error message that it does not recognize the file type. Does anyone know what is happening and how I can correct it?
Thanks so much.
Posted by John Mumaw on August 21, 2012 at 6:33 PM
Whenever PS starts acting funky, close the program and then while pressing the Ctrl/Alt/Shift keys simultaneously, open PS. You should then get a prompt asking if you would like to 'Delete the Photoshop settings file', Click yes, and this should refresh PS and hopefully your problem will be solved.
Posted by David Bostedo on August 21, 2012 at 9:14 PM
A very odd and wide ranging list of problems can often be fixed by doing what John suggests. Be aware, though, that this will reset all of your preferences, including your workspace arrangement and keyboard shortcuts if you've made changes to those. They can be saved prior to clearing your settings though.
Check on the bottom of your PS Camera Raw page when it opens. At the bottom, there will be a line called preferences. Double Click it and set the preferences to how you want them.
Rick
Posted by David Bostedo on August 22, 2012 at 8:53 PM
For future reference, Dave, how does one do that in CS5?
In the upper right corner of CS4, 5, or 6 you'll see a drop down menu that indicates the workspace arrangement you're currently using. In order to save things the way you want them :
-- Change any panel inclusion or arrangement, or change any keyboard shortcuts you want to
-- Select the workspace drop down menu, and choose "New Workspace" (Or Window->Workspace->New Workspace)
-- You should get a popup where you can name your workspace, and choose whether or not to include keyboard shortcuts and menu changes
Then when you clear your preferences, I think it goes back to the default workspace, but the one you created should still be available.
This Adobe link provides a lot of good info about setting up workspaces to be the way you want them.
Discussion
6 repliesThanks so much.
For future reference, Dave, how does one do that in CS5?
--P
Rick
In the upper right corner of CS4, 5, or 6 you'll see a drop down menu that indicates the workspace arrangement you're currently using. In order to save things the way you want them :
-- Change any panel inclusion or arrangement, or change any keyboard shortcuts you want to
-- Select the workspace drop down menu, and choose "New Workspace" (Or Window->Workspace->New Workspace)
-- You should get a popup where you can name your workspace, and choose whether or not to include keyboard shortcuts and menu changes
Then when you clear your preferences, I think it goes back to the default workspace, but the one you created should still be available.
This Adobe link provides a lot of good info about setting up workspaces to be the way you want them.
Thank you for the great explanation and the Adoobie link.
--P