Nature Photographers Network
This is the preserved archive of the original Nature Photographers Network. The community continues at naturephotographers.network.

Saving Sort in Bridge

Discussion

4 replies
Posted by Dan Baumbach on November 25, 2012 at 5:39 PM
I've been using CS6 on my Mac since it was released. Suddenly, after a reboot, bridge is no longer saving my sort settings. I've looked in preferences and I see nothing about saving the sort, but I've never had to sort bridge every time I open it like I do now.

What needs to be done to have it save the sort order?

Thanks.


- Dan
Posted by David Bostedo on November 25, 2012 at 8:51 PM
Dan - I've never had to save mine either. My suggestion, like with most PS CS oddities, is to start Bridge so that it clears the preferences file. You can do this in Windows by holding down "Ctrl-Alt-Shift" when you start the program. On a Mac it's "Cmd-Option-Shift".

That can usually fix a lot of odd behavior, as the preference files seem to get corrupted quite easily.
Posted by Dan Baumbach on November 26, 2012 at 7:42 PM
Thanks David. Now I'm in the default view. I used to have my thumbnails tab at the bottom and the preview on top, but now I'm unable to do that. I try dragging it to the bottom but it doesn't seem to want to go there.

- Dan
Posted by Dan Baumbach on November 26, 2012 at 7:52 PM
I figured it out. I was trying to drag panels around. I just had to click on filmstrip.

- Dan.
Posted by David Bostedo on November 26, 2012 at 10:27 PM
Those items along the top ("ESSENTIALS", "FILMSTRIP", "OUTPUT", etc.) are the default workspaces for Bridge. If you make something more custom and want to save it, you can use the down arrow icon to the right of the workspaces.

If you save it, and you need to reset preferences, it will be available again in the drop down menu. But if you're used to using the defaults, those will always be there.