Nature Photographers Network
This is the preserved archive of the original Nature Photographers Network. The community continues at naturephotographers.network.

URGENT!!!! PS help needed!!

Discussion

5 replies
Posted by Rob Howard on May 12, 2006 at 4:11 PM
Hi All,

There must be someone out there who can help me :confused:

I need to highlight and enlarge just a certain area of an image, but keep it within the original image. The enlarged area ( for detail), but can't work out how to do it.

Someone help me please!! :smile:

Regards

Rob
Posted by Nick on May 12, 2006 at 4:34 PM
Hi Rob,

1) Use the marque tool to select the area you want to enlarge.
2) Now select Edit->Copy from the drop down menus.

Now you're going to create a new & temporary file with the bit to be enlarged in it...

3) Select File->New and accept the default sizes PS suggests - but make sure the colour space is the same. Don't worry about any of the other settings.

Now to enlarge the crop...

4) Select Image->Image Size from the drop down menu.
5) Change the Pixel Dimensions from "Pixels" to "Percent", and then change the size by however much you want..200% = 2x etc. (Leave the PPI etc alone.)

Optional Step...

6) Add a black border around the selection. - Select->All (ctrl-A), then Edit->Stroke and chose an appropriate no. of pixels & a colour (eg 10, black).

Now to add it back to the original image...

7) Make sure you can see both images on screen simultaneously (ie they're not full screen!)
8) Make sure you're working on the temporary enlarged image by clicking on it.
9) Now look at the tool palletes and find the one that says layers, locate the layer with the image on it (probably Layer1) and click on the layer once to select it.

Now for the neat bit..

10) Simply click on and then drag the Layer from the Layers pallete across onto the original image and "drop it". You can then select the Move tool to re-position it back where you want. You can also select it and use the Edit->Transform->Scale/RotateDistort etc tools to fine tune the size/fit.
11) Close and discard the temporary file copy.
12) Save your new Picture-in-Picture file and breath a sigh of relief (hopefully!!! :biggrin:)

Hope that helps.

:wavey:
Posted by John MacTavish on May 12, 2006 at 4:34 PM
Rob,
I'd do the following

1/ open your image at full size.
2/select a rectangle or other shape of the area you wnt to enlarge later on
3/ Copy the selected area to the clipboard
4/ de select and resize your photo as normal
5/ paste the clipboard contents onto the resized image
6/ free transform the scale of this new layer to what you want it to be and position it where you want it to be.
6/ flatten image

John
Posted by Rob Howard on May 12, 2006 at 5:51 PM
Hi Nick/John,

Nick, struggling to find the layers on the tool pallette? Got everything else done OK :smile: But now can't get the selected area back onto the main image.

This is a real head **** . Good job I've only got 8 images to do :eek:

Will have another go in the morning, but hope I can get them done by midday.

Thanks for your help guys

Regards

Rob
Posted by Nick on May 12, 2006 at 6:12 PM
I thought you might have difficulty finding the "layers" in the tool palletes....(see pic :wink:)

You can usually find them in the lower RHS of the tool stack - there are normally 3 "tabs" - one shows "layers", another "channels" and the last one "paths". The "Layers" one is normally shown by default (click on it if one if the others is displayed) & always has at least one layer on it when an image is open - "Background". Click on Window->Workspace->Reset Pallete Locations if you can't find them.

In your temporary image, you should see two layers listed in the tab - "background" and "layer1" - click and highlight the "layer1" and, without releasing the mouse button, drag the layer across to the original image and then "drop it" (release the mouse button).
Posted by Rob Howard on May 13, 2006 at 10:03 AM
Hi Nick,

All done OK

I owe you a pint if we ever meet :biggrin: :smile:

Regards

Rob