Posted by Jim Erhardt on April 6, 2013 at 10:05 AM
Personal Galleries; saving your photos from auto-deletion.
A common question we receive on a regular basis is "the photo I posted last month is gone. What happened to it?"
With approximetely 20,000 photos being posted on NPN yearly - many with the optional 1200 pixel/500kb large version - we would end up with a major over flow if we allowed all of them to remain indefinitely. Accordingly, all photos posted have a 35-day lifespan, meaning they are automatically deleted after 35 days.
There are exceptions to the auto-delete process, such as photos selected for the Weekly Picks or photos moved by the NPN administration to other special NPN galleries. However, there is a way for you to select photos that you would like to have remain on the NPN server - place them in your Personal Gallery!
You have up to 34 days from posting a photo to tick the Check this box to include photo in your gallery option on the edit screen. To add a photo to your gallery, use the edit link found under the thumbnail and check the "include photo in personal gallery" box. The photo will now remain on the NPN site for as long as you want it to!
When you view your Personal Gallery, all photos you have posted over the last 35 days will appear, as will all older photos you have added to your personal gallery via the method described above. If you wish to delete a photo from your personal gallery (it must be older than 35 days), uncheck the box and the photo will be removed at the next running of the auto-delete script, which takes place once a day.
Your NPN Personal Gallery is intended to showcase your work - be sure to add your favorite photos to it!
Discussion
0 repliesA common question we receive on a regular basis is "the photo I posted last month is gone. What happened to it?"
With approximetely 20,000 photos being posted on NPN yearly - many with the optional 1200 pixel/500kb large version - we would end up with a major over flow if we allowed all of them to remain indefinitely. Accordingly, all photos posted have a 35-day lifespan, meaning they are automatically deleted after 35 days.
There are exceptions to the auto-delete process, such as photos selected for the Weekly Picks or photos moved by the NPN administration to other special NPN galleries. However, there is a way for you to select photos that you would like to have remain on the NPN server - place them in your Personal Gallery!
You have up to 34 days from posting a photo to tick the Check this box to include photo in your gallery option on the edit screen. To add a photo to your gallery, use the edit link found under the thumbnail and check the "include photo in personal gallery" box. The photo will now remain on the NPN site for as long as you want it to!
When you view your Personal Gallery, all photos you have posted over the last 35 days will appear, as will all older photos you have added to your personal gallery via the method described above. If you wish to delete a photo from your personal gallery (it must be older than 35 days), uncheck the box and the photo will be removed at the next running of the auto-delete script, which takes place once a day.
Your NPN Personal Gallery is intended to showcase your work - be sure to add your favorite photos to it!